Cover image for Walking with the wind : a memoir of the movement
Walking with the wind : a memoir of the movement
Walking with the wind : a memoir of the movement
Physical Description:
xvii, 526 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 23 cm
General Note (Repeatable):
Includes index.
Part one. Coming up -- "That was some hard times" -- A small world, a safe world -- Pilot light -- Part two. Nashville -- "The boy from Troy" -- Soul force -- "Nigras, nigras everywhere!" -- Part three. Freedom ride -- "This is the students" -- Last supper -- Mr. Greyhound -- Part four. Snick -- Rise up the rug -- "We march today" -- "Keep your stick down" -- Part five. "Uhuru" -- "Feel angry with me" -- Freedom fighters -- Into Selma -- Part six. Going down -- Bloody Sunday -- De-election -- "Why?" -- Part seven. Home -- The new South -- Old ghosts -- Onward.
"Lewis's role in the Nashville Movement - a student-led effort to desegregate the city of Nashville through nonviolent sit-ins - made him a defining activist of his day and helped set the tone for the civil rights movement. Though he was repeatedly a victim of violence and intimidation, his belief in peaceful action, inspired by his mentor, Dr. Martin Luther King, became the core of his cause and vision. In this classic bestseller, John Lewis vividly captures America's tumultuous civil rights era. His natural gift as a leader would continue. In 1986, he won a congressional seat in Georgia, and remains in office to this day."--The cover.
Personal Subject:
Added Author:
Production, Publication, Distribution, Manufacture, and Copyright Notice:
New York : Simon & Schuster Paperbacks, 2015.

Lists that include this item