Cover image for The dark is rising
The dark is rising

Physical Description:
296 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
Part One: The finding -- Midwinter's Eve -- The sign seeker -- The walker on the old way -- Part Two: The learning -- Christmas Eve -- The book of Gramarye -- Betrayal -- Christmas -- Part Three: The testing -- The coming of the cold -- The hawk in the dark -- The king of fire and water -- The hunt rides again -- The joining of the signs.
On the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers an astounding gift -- that he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals who fight to keep the powers of evil, the Dark, from taking over the world. At once, he is plunged into a quest for the six magical Signs that will one day aid the Old Ones in the final battle between the Light and the Dark. But the Dark has already sent out the Rider -- evil cloaked in black, mounted on a midnight stallion -- and has far worse in store. Will must find the six great signs -- wood, bronze, iron, water, fire, and stone -- before the Dark begins its dreadful rise.
Target Audience Note:
Ages 8-12.
Production, Publication, Distribution, Manufacture, and Copyright Notice:
New York : Margaret K. McElderry Books, [2013]

General Note:
Includes a Note from the author/Introduction.

Sequel to: Over sea, under stone.

Following sequel: Greenwitch.