Cover image for I can't date Jesus : love, sex, family, race, and other reasons I've put my faith in Beyoncé
I can't date Jesus : love, sex, family, race, and other reasons I've put my faith in Beyoncé
Title:
I can't date Jesus : love, sex, family, race, and other reasons I've put my faith in Beyoncé
ISBN:
9781501178856
Physical Description:
ix, 241 pages ; 22 cm
Contents:
Introduction: where'd you go? -- The first taste -- I see a priest in you -- The first, the worst -- Diana Ross -- You will die poor -- Learning how to ho and date and failing at both -- This place is no sanctuary -- Itchy and scratchy -- My lord and gyrator -- The marrying kind -- The pinkprint -- I'll dial that number -- The impossible -- I can't date Jesus -- Sweet potato Saddam -- Epilogue: yeah, everything good ... we good.
Abstract:
"In the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can't Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I'm Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul-searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity. It hasn't been easy being Michael Arceneaux. Equality for LGBT people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons of color within the community are still often silenced, and being black in America is...well, have you watched the news? With the characteristic wit and candor that have made him one of today's boldest writers on social issues, I Can't Date Jesus is Michael Arceneaux's impassioned, forthright, and refreshing look at minority life in today's America. Leaving no bigoted or ignorant stone unturned, he describes his journey in learning to embrace his identity when the world told him to do the opposite. He eloquently writes about coming out to his mother; growing up in Houston, Texas; that time his father asked if he was 'funny' while shaking his hand; his obstacles in embracing intimacy; and the persistent challenges of young people who feel marginalized and denied the chance to pursue their dreams. Perfect for fans of David Sedaris and Phoebe Robinson, I Can't Date Jesus tells us--without apologies--what it's like to be outspoken and brave in a divisive world"-- Provided by publisher.
Personal Subject:
Format:
Book
Production, Publication, Distribution, Manufacture, and Copyright Notice:
New York : Atria Paperback, 2018.

Lists that include this item