Booklist search results

BKLYN BookMatch - New York City

by BklynKalliopiM | 8 items

Recommendations for a reader who is interested in finding books for a New York City themed book club. This list was created by a librarian with the Brooklyn Public Library for a reader. Would you like your own personalized list of reading suggestions? Visit Bklyn BookMatch here: www.bklynlibrary.org...

Created on: February 02, 2015

BKLYN Children's Books about Toys Lost and Found

by BklynRachelP | 24 items

In conjunction with The Museum of the City of New York's exhibit, "A City for Cordoroy: Don Freeman's New York," BPL librarians have curated a list of children books about toys both lost and found. Looking for more book suggestions? Check out BKLYN BookMatch for a curated book list based on your in...

Created on: January 08, 2019

BKLYN Adult Books about Unlikely Friendships

by BKLYNJesG | 13 items

In conjunction with The Museum of the City of New York's exhibit, "A City for Cordoroy: Don Freeman's New York," BPL librarians have curated a list of adult books about unlikely friendships. Looking for more book suggestions? Check out BKLYN BookMatch for a curated book list based on your interests:...

Created on: February 13, 2019

BookMatch: Books for fans of Medicine, Journalism, Historical New York and Murakami

by bklynjk | 7 items

Books that explore the history of surgery, its practitioners, and the limits of medicine, a look at ground-breaking journalism, historical fiction set in New York City, and magic realism by way of Argentina

Created on: January 03, 2020

BKLYN BookMatch: Mystery, Romance and Adventure in Foggy London, Old New York, and Other Dark Corners

by BKLYNLizaK | 8 items

This list was created by a librarian with Brooklyn Public Library for a reader. The books on this list feature mystery, romance, Victorian era and Edwardian era, foggy London, old New York, and historical fiction. Would you like your own personalized list of reading suggestions? Visit Bklyn BookMatc...

Created on: January 24, 2020

BKYLN BookMatchTeen: Being Gay in New York

by bkbookmatchteen | 7 items

This is a list full of queer stories in New York. A mix of audio and paper books, this list has fantasy and realistic fiction for lovers of David Levithan and Rainbow Rowell. Brought to you by Damien & Izzy.

Created on: February 05, 2020

BKLYN BookMatch: Ethnic Studies and Living in the New York Inner City

by BKLYNDonaldP | 5 items

This list was created by a librarian with Brooklyn Public Library for a reader with interests in ethnic studies and living in the New York inner city. Would you like your own personalized list of reading suggestions? Visit Bklyn BookMatch, here: www.bklynlibrary.org/bookmatch

Created on: July 06, 2020

"Borrowed" - Montgomery to East New York

by Patron239116 | 11 items

Recommendations curated for BPL's podcast "Borrowed," Episode 3, Season 3: "Montgomery to East New York.”

Created on: October 23, 2020

BKLYN Bookmatch: Land of a Thousand and One Smiths

by BklynDjazZ | 50 items

Poet, musician, elegist at the intersection of New York, feminism, the Chelsea Hotel, the Beats, the 70s, punk. Includes works by and about Patti Smith, the artists that she's collaborated with and been inspired by, and books that mythologize New York.

Created on: January 13, 2021

MyLibraryNYC_New York City

by mlaluz274 | 11 items

Non-fiction titles about the history of New York City

Created on: October 16, 2013