Shared booklist

BKLYN Bookmatch: Historical Fiction & Literary Chicklit For Fans of J Courtney Sullivan, Anne Patchett, Curtis Sittenfeld, and Elin Hilderbrand

6 items

Pizza girl : a novel

Frazier, Jean Kyoung, author. | eBook

Eighteen years old, pregnant, and working as a pizza delivery girl in suburban Los Angeles, our charmingly dysfunctional heroine is deeply lost and in complete denial about it all. She's grieving the death of her father (whom she has more in common with than she'd like to admit), avoiding her supportive mom and loving boyfriend, and flagrantly ignoring her future. Her world is further upended when she becomes obsessed with Jenny, a stay-at-home mother new to the neighborhood, who comes to depend on weekly deliveries of pizzas for her son's happiness. As one woman looks toward motherhood and the other toward middle age, the relationship between the two begins to blur in strange, complicated, and ultimately heartbreaking ways.

The daughters of Erietown : a novel

Schultz, Connie, author. | eBook

1957, Clayton Valley, Ohio. Ellie has the best grades in her class. Her dream is to go to nursing school and marry Brick McGinty. A basketball star, Brick has the chance to escape his abusive father and become the first person in his blue-collar family to attend college. But when Ellie learns that she is pregnant, everything changes. Just as Brick and Ellie revise their plans and build a family, a knock on the front door threatens to destroy their lives. The evolution of women's lives spanning the second half of the twentieth century is at the center of this beautiful novel that richly portrays how much people know -- and pretend not to know -- about the secrets at the heart of a town, and a family.

New people [electronic resource].

Senna, Danzy. | eBook

Working on her dissertation while planning her wedding to her college sweetheart as the 20th century draws to a close, Maria, a young woman from Brooklyn being featured in a documentary about mixed-heritage couples, risks the life she has worked so hard to achieve by fantasizing about a poet she barely knows.

The summer wives

Williams, Beatriz, author. | EBOOKS

Drawn into and then banished from exclusive Winthrop Island when a complex relationship between her stepsister and a working-class college youth ends in violence, a Shakespearean actress returns after 20 years to pursue justice.

Such a fun age [electronic resource].

Reid, Kiley. |

A story about race and privilege is centered around a young black babysitter, her well-intentioned employer and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both.

White houses : a novel

Bloom, Amy, 1953- author. | EBOOKS

After meeting the future first lady while covering Franklin Roosevelt's campaign, Lorena Hickock and Eleanor discover a powerful passion between them.