Shared booklist

BKLYN BookMatch: Modern Read-Alikes for Orwell & Hardy

For readers who love the linguistic precision and storytelling of George Orwell and the lyricism of Thomas Hardy, but want to branch out into more modern fiction. This list was created by a librarian with the Brooklyn Public Library for a reader. Would you like your own personalized list of reading suggestions? Visit Bklyn BookMatch here: www.bklynpubliclibrary.org/readers-advisory

7 items

NW

Zadie Smith. |

The Good Lord Bird

James McBride. |

Bastard out of Carolina

Dorothy Allison. |

Cavedweller

Dorothy Allison. |

Fen

by Caryl Churchill. |

Little brother

Cory Doctorow. |

Feed

M.T. Anderson. |