Shared booklist

BKLYN: Author Deesha Philyaw's Book Recommendations

This list of book recommendations was created by award-winning author Deesha Philyaw. These books include such themes as: women, black women, feminism, sexuality, faith, religion, relationships, LGBTQ. Would you like your own personalized list of reading suggestions? Visit Bklyn BookMatch here: bklynlibrary.org/bookmatch

7 items

Black buck [electronic resource].

Askaripour, Mateo. | eBook

For fans of Sorry to Bother You and The Wolf of Wall Street—a crackling, satirical debut novel about a young man given a shot at stardom as the lone Black salesman at a mysterious, cult-like, and wildly successful startup where nothing is as it seems.

Everywhere you don't belong

Bump, Gabriel, author. |

In this alternately witty and heartbreaking debut novel, Gabriel Bump gives us an unforgettable protagonist, Claude McKay Love. Claude isn’t dangerous or brilliant—he’s an average kid coping with abandonment, violence, riots, failed love, and societal pressures as he steers his way past the signposts of youth: childhood friendships, basketball tryouts, first love, first heartbreak, picking a college, moving away from home.

The final revival of opal & nev [electronic resource].

Walton, Dawnie. | eBook

A poignant fictional oral history of the beloved rock ‘n’ roll duo who shot to fame in the 1970s New York, and the dark, fraught secret that lies at the peak of their stardom.

How the one-armed sister sweeps her house [electronic resource] : A novel.

Jones, Cherie. | eBook

A debut novel in the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, from a brilliant Caribbean writer, set in Barbados, about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise."

Milk blood heat : stories

Moniz, Dantiel W., author. | Book

Set among the cities and suburbs of Florida, each story in Milk Blood Heat delves into the ordinary worlds of young girls, women, and men who find themselves confronted by extraordinary moments of violent personal reckoning. These intimate portraits of people and relationships scour and soothe and blast a light on the nature of family, faith, forgiveness, consumption, and what we may, or may not, owe one another.

The prophets [electronic resource].

Jones, Jr, Robert. | eBook

A novel about the forbidden union between two enslaved young men on a Deep South plantation, the refuge they find in each other, and a betrayal that threatens their existence.

You don't have to go to mars for love

Harvey, Yona, author. | Book

The poems document the Afro-futuristic journey of an unnamed, female protagonist passing through various districts in space.