Shared booklist

BKLYN BookMatch: For a Fan of "The Handmaid's Tale" & "The Goldfinch"

This list was created by a librarian with the Brooklyn Public Library for a reader. Would you like to your own personal list of reading suggestions? Visit Bklyn BookMatch, here: www.bklynlibrary.org/bookmatch

10 items

The Witch Elm

French, Tana, author. |

This standalone novel has all the things readers love about the Dublin Murder Squad books--well developed characters, exquisite plotting, and deep explorations of human nature. Toby leads a charmed life with an idyllic childhood, a good family, a loving girlfriend, and promising prospects. But a vicious attack changes everything. Atmospheric, twisty, and perfect for readers who like Gillian Flynn or Kate Atkinson.

Augustus

Williams, John, 1922-1994. |

The Roman Emperor Augustus, great-nephew of Julius Caesar, reveals that Augustus's own opinion of himself was higher than that of those around him.

The long drop : a novel

Mina, Denise, author. |

Centered around the “trial of the century” in Glasgow in 1950, the innocence and guilt of those involved is explored, starting with Peter Manuel who has been found guilty of a string of murders, starting with the Watt family, and is waiting to die by hanging.

The blondes

Schultz, Emily, 1974- |

Discovering that she is pregnant by her married professor, grad student Hazel struggles through a pregnancy against a backdrop of an apocalyptic illness that is transforming blondes from all walks of life into rabid killers.

An unkindness of ghosts

Solomon, Rivers, author. |

Aster lives in the lowdeck slums of the HSS Matilda, a space vessel organized much like the antebellum South. For generations, Matilda has ferried the last of humanity to a mythical Promised Land. On its way, the ship's leaders have imposed harsh moral restrictions and deep indignities on dark-skinned sharecroppers like Aster. Embroiled in a grudge with a brutal overseer, Aster learns there may be a way to improve her lot--if she's willing to sow the seeds of civil war.

Gold fame citrus

Watkins, Claire Vaye. |

In the wake of a devastating Southern California drought, two idealistic holdouts fall in love and scavenge for their needs before taking charge of a mysterious child and embarking on a perilous journey in search of water.

The fifth season

Jemisin, N. K. |

When her husband murders their son and abducts their daughter, grief-stricken and vengeful Essun pursues him across The Stillness, a vast and dynamic super-continent on the brink of catastrophe that will usher in a "fifth season," a time of uncertainty and hardship. But Essun is as formidable as the land she traverses -- she's an orogene, which means that she can shape the contours of the land. Although she's spent much of her life hiding from those who would kill her on account of her race, Essun is about to prove how dangerous a woman on a mission can be. Set in a richly detailed, fully realized world inhabited by numerous well-drawn and complex cultures, The Fifth Season launches the Broken Earth series.

Little panic : dispatches from an anxious life

Stern, Amanda, author. |

The author of the Frankly Frannie series presents a relatable, darkly comic memoir about her lifelong struggles with anxiety, tracing her upbringing by a bohemian mother and sanitized, affluent father in a transforming New York City.

The world to come : a novel

Horn, Dara, 1977- |

Having stolen a million-dollar Marc Chagall masterpiece, thirty-year-old quiz-show writer Benjamin Ziskind and his twin sister work to evade the police and evaluate the eighty-year-old link between their family and the famous painting.

Seven Gothic tales

Dinesen, Isak, 1885-1962. |

Seven short fantasies set in the nineteenth century explore the psychological dimensions of familiar landscapes and human experiences.