Shared booklist

BKLYN: Readalikes for Seven

This readalike list was created by a librarian with the Brooklyn Public Library for the #OwnVoices novel Seven by Farzana Doctor. These books include such themes as: feminism, sexuality, female genital mutilation, FGM, FGM/C cutting, Dawoodi Bohra community, India, women, ancestry, genealogy, survivors, Dolka, culture, tradition, family. Would you like your own personalized list of reading suggestions? Visit Bklyn BookMatch here: bklynlibrary.org/bookmatch

6 items

Before we visit the goddess [electronic resource] : A novel.

Divakaruni, Chitra Banerjee. | eBook

Three generations of mothers and daughters who must discover their greatest source of strength in one another—a masterful, brilliant tale of a family both united and torn apart by ambition and love.

A place for us : a novel

Mirza, Fatima Farheen, 1991- author. | EBOOKS

A moving portrait of what it means to be an American family today, a novel of love, identity and belonging that eloquently examines what it means to be both American and Muslim -- and announces Fatima Farheen Mirza as a major literary talent.

The storyteller's secret : a novel

Badani, Sejal, author. |

Nothing prepares Jaya, a New York journalist, for the heartbreak of her third miscarriage and the slow unraveling of her marriage in its wake. Desperate to assuage her deep anguish, she decides to go to India to uncover answers to her family’s past.

The tea girl of hummingbird lane [electronic resource] : A novel.

See, Lisa. | eBook

For the Akha people, ensconced in ritual and routine, life goes on as it has for generations—farming tea in a remote mountain village. Then a stranger appears at the village gate in a jeep, the first automobile any of the villagers has ever seen.

The unlikely adventures of the Shergill sisters : a novel

Jaswal, Balli Kaur, author. |

A charming and thoughtful story that illuminates the bonds of family, sisterhood, and heritage that tether us despite our differences. Funny and heartbreaking, it is a reminder of the truly important things we must treasure in our lives.

Well-behaved indian women [electronic resource].

Dave, Saumya. | eBook

A mother-daughter story about three generations of women who struggle to define themselves as they pursue their dreams.