Shared booklist

BKLYN: Readalikes for BPL Lit Prize Finalist: The Deep

This readalike list was created by a librarian with the Brooklyn Public Library for The Deep, a finalist for the 2020 Brooklyn Public Library Literary Prize. These books include such themes as: Afrofuturism, women, feminism, gender, non-binary, enslavement, Transatlantic Slave Trade, freedom, science fiction. Would you like your own personalized list of reading suggestions? Visit Bklyn BookMatch here: bklynlibrary.org/bookmatch

6 items

The fifth season

N. K. Jemisin. |

Essun must cross the dying earth to find her daughter, kidnapped by her husband. Essun will have to use the powers she’s concealed for decades. But will they help her save her daughter or turn her into a target of fear and prejudice?

Remote control

Okorafor, Nnedi, author. | Book

She’s the adopted daughter of the Angel of Death. Beware of her. Mind her. Death guards her like one of its own.

The seep

Porter, Chana, 1984- author. |

Trina Goldberg-Oneka is a fifty-year-old trans woman whose life is irreversibly altered by a gentle invasion from an alien entity called The Seep. Through The Seep capitalism falls and hierarchies are broken. Anything imaginable is possible.

She would be king : a novel

Moore, Way©?tu, author. | EBOOKS

A novel of exhilarating range, magical realism, and history—a dazzling retelling of Liberia’s formation.

An Unkindness of Ghosts

Solomon, Rivers, author. | EBOOKS

Aster lives in the low-deck slums of the HSS Matilda, a space vessel organized much like the antebellum South. For generations, the Matilda has ferried the last of humanity to a mythical Promised Land.

The water dancer : a novel

Coates, Ta-Nehisi, author. |

Young Hiram Walker was born into bondage. When his mother was sold away, Hiram was robbed of all memory of her — but was gifted with a mysterious power. Years later, when Hiram almost drowns in a river, that same power saves his life.